Drs. Propeck and Tuite to receive ACR Fellowship

Posted on May 2010

Dr. Michael J. Tuite and Dr. Pamela Propeck will receive induction into the American College of Radiology (ACR) as Fellows on Sunday, May 16, 2010 in Washington, DC. They join Drs. Broderick, Grist, Lee, Pozniak, and Turski in receiving the prestigious designation of fellow in the ACR.

Recognition as a fellow of the American College of Radiology is one of the highest honors the ACR can bestow on a radiologist, radiation oncologist, or medical physicist. ACR Fellows demonstrate a history of service to the College, organized radiology, teaching, or research. Approximately 10% of ACR members achieve this distinction.

In 1923 when the College was first conceived, its founders intended it to be a small elite group of fellows. In 1924, the founders inducted seven fellows at the first convocation and the ACR bylaws approved that year limited membership in the future to 100, of which not more than five new fellows would be accepted annually. Although an extremely prestigious society, its size limited the amount of work it was able to accomplish. By 1931 the College was being encouraged to enlarge its membership in order to expand its projects. In 1935 the new category of member was created for diplomates of the American Board of Radiology and the induction of fellows was retained for those members who had attained eminence in the specialty.