Interdisciplinary Teams Receives PERC Award

Posted on September 2012

The Wisconsin Partnership Program Education and Research Committee (PERC) announced last week the recipients of their annual Collaborative Health Science Program awards. Among the three winners was Breast Imaging Associate Professor Dr. Beth Burnside’s team receiving $500,000 for their project entitled “Wisconsin Breast Cancer Screening Collaborative: Advanced Shared Decision-Making.” They were chosen based on Dr. Burnside’s presentation given to the committee, and her excellent responses to interview questions.

The goal of their proposal is the successful development, implementation, testing, and translation of a risk prediction and shared decision-making tool for breast cancer screening called the Breast CAncer Risk Estimator (B~CARE). Embedded in the electronic health record, B~CARE will allow patients and physicians to mutually understand individual disease risk, accurately discuss diagnosis and treatment, and jointly weigh patient values to make more data-driven, yet patient-centered decisions.

The interdisciplinary team consists of physicians Dr. Burnside, Dr. Lee Wilke from the Department of Surgery, Dr. Sarina Schrager from the Department of Family Medicine, and Dr. Jon Keevil from the Department of Medicine, Cardiology. Also included in this project are Dr. Amy Trentham-Dietz from the Department of Population Health Sciences, Dr. Dhavan Shah from the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication, Dr. Oguzhan Alagoz from the Department of Engineering, and Dr. Lori Dubenske from the Department of Psychiatry.

Community partners participating on this initiative include the UW Health Center of Clinical Knowledge Management (CCKM), the Wisconsin Well Woman (WWW) Program, and the Wisconsin Cancer Council (WCC).

Congratulations team! We look forward to more news from this project.

This diagram provides an overview of the people and organizations that will be involved in this project.