Medical Imaging Sciences Students Celebrate Graduation

Posted on October 2013

After two years of hard work both in the classroom and the clinical setting, 14 students graduated from University of
Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics School of Radiologic Technology and 12 students graduated from the School of Diagnostic Medical
Sonography. After in-depth training at UW Radiology’s own facilities, these students will receive a certificate from UW Hospital
and Clinics and a B.S. in their respective degrees from UW-Milwaukee or Marian University.

The UWHC Schools of Medical Imaging Sciences provide two years of professional clinical training to students completing a
B.S. degree in either Radiologic Technology or Diagnostic Medical Sonography. After completing two years of degree-specific
coursework at their sponsor university, students go through a competitive application and interview process for placement
into either school. If accepted, their junior and senior years are a mix of classes with our instructors, hands-on learning
in structured labs, and supervised clinical rotations. Upon graduation, students in both programs receive a certificate from
UW Hospital and Clinics, a B.S. degree from their sponsor university, and become eligible to take their respective board exams.

The School of Radiologic Technology was founded in 1931, and is currently affiliated with UW-Milwaukee and Marian
University. The School of Diagnostic Medical Sonography was founded in 1980, and is currently affiliated with UW-Milwaukee
and has just launched an affiliation with Marian University. According to Kelly Deneen, program assistant in UWHC Schools
of Medical Imaging Sciences, the program is also working on adding new affiliations with Carroll University and Edgewood
College for programs starting in Fall 2014.

Official graduation dates are Friday, August 9 for the sonography students, and Thursday, August 15 for the radiologic
technology students. All students are set to graduate, and they receive their certificates during their ceremony. All of the
students are also eligible to walk in their universities’ graduation ceremonies in May of this year.

The Department of Radiology congratulates the graduates on their hard work and looks forward to the contributions they
will make to the imaging field.

SRT Class of 2013
Front Row: Kayleigh Albrecht, Paula Simono, Emily Berg, Nichole Birschbach, Keo Yang
Middle Row: Courtney Hetzel, Megan Sumiejski, Michayla Wald, Tracey Nickel
Back Row: Dane Wakeman, Nicole Herman, Laura Butt, Amanda Plamann, Daniel Adamowicz


DMS Class of 2013
Front Row: Bree Reynolds, Ashley Robertson, Linette Egan, Nicole Kaeser, Katie Lillie
Middle Row: Laura Johnson, Corrine Chaplo, Chelsie Losselyong, Rebecca Starrett
Back Row: Lindsey Luther, Caitlin Barber, Jami Nemitz


Corrine Chaplo won the national Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography Foundation Sonography Student Scholarship,
and Ashley Robertson won the national Alan D. Waggoner Student Scholarship through the American Society of Echocardiography while in the program.