UW Department of Radiology Women Physicians in Radiology (WPR) Group Making Great Strides

Posted on October 2020


The Women Physicians in Radiology (WPR) committee was founded in 2009 by Drs. Susan Rebsamen, Elizabeth Sadowski, Lynn Broderick, and Elizabeth Burnside. The mission of WPR was twofold: to facilitate the success of women in all ranks of the radiology community and to promote academic and clinical excellence in all faculty, residents, and students, regardless of gender identification. The group sponsors several events every year, including journal clubs, book discussions, and social events with discussions that focus on issues affecting women in the medical workplace. The WPR leadership has also developed and integrated a Resident Professional Development lecture series within the residency curriculum, which includes topics such as Work Life Balance, Interviewing Skills, Contract Negotiation, and Malpractice.

When the group began in 2009, there were 16 women faculty members from the academic and community practices of the department. Over the past 10 years, the department has experienced significant growth, successfully recruiting new women faculty to bring the current total to 29. WPR has fostered an environment of support, mentorship, and growth for many, while promoting the professional development and advancement of women within the field of radiology. Many women faculty hold leaderships positions within the Department of Radiology and beyond.

More recently, WPR has formed new partnerships with groups such as the Medical Student Radiology Interest Group to create a pipeline for mentorship within the School of Medicine and Public Health. The WPR continues to find opportunities for growth through identifying and serving the needs of women radiologists.

UW Department of Radiology women faculty members are not only making a difference at home, but many hold both state and national leadership positions and are involved in service activities:

State and National Leadership and Service
Pamela Propeck, MD, FACR: ABR Trustee and ABR Breast Online Longitudinal Assessment Chair
Lynn Broderick, MD, FACR: ACR Chair Thoracic Subcommittee on Practice Parameters, WI Radiological Society President/Chair Fellowship Committee, ABR Senior Editor Online Assessment Thoracic
Susan Rebsamen MD, FACR: Wisconsin Radiological Society President
Daniela Martin MD: ACR Appropriateness Criteria Expert Panel on Thoracic Imaging
Elizabeth Sadowski, MD, FSAR: ACR ORADS MRI Educational Committee Chair
Elizabeth Burnside, MD, MPH, MSA, FACR: ACR Harvey L. Neiman Health Policy Institute Board of Directors
Meg Lubner, MD, FSAR: Head of GI Scientific Subcommittee, ARRS
Amy Fowler, MD, PhD: Vice-Chair, NRG Oncology Imaging Committee and Chair, Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Breast Cancer Imaging Outreach Working Group

Institutional Leadership and Service
Elizabeth Burnside MD, MPH, MS, FACR: Senior Associate Dean, Deputy Director of Institute of Clinical Translational Science
Elizabeth Sadowski, MD, FSAR: UW Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty and Staff Affairs, Hostile and Intimidating Behavior Liaison
Meg Lubner, MD, FSAR: President, UWH Medical Board
Kara Gill, MD: Medical Director of the AFCH Imaging Pavilion
Amy Fowler, MD, PhD: Co-Director, Breast Cancer Research Advisory Network (BCRAN); UW Carbone Cancer Center
Lori Mankowski, Gettle, MD, MBA: UW SMPH Chapter of the AAMC Group on Women in Medicine and Science Steering committee

Vice Chair/Department Leadership
Jessica Robbins, MD: Vice Chair of Faculty Development
Daniela Martin, MD: Director of Diversity and Inclusion

Department of Radiology Division/Associate Division Chiefs
Tabby Kennedy, MD: Division Chief of Neuroradiology
Roberta Strigel, MD: Division Chief of Breast Imaging and Intervention; Chief of Breast MRI
Kara Gill, MD: Division Chief of Pediatric Imaging
Meg Lubner, MD: Associate Division Chief Abdominal Imaging and Intervention

Imaging Modality Chiefs
Carolyn Haerr, MD FACR: Leader, Mammography for Unity Point/Meriter
Pamela Propeck, MD, FACR: Chair of Community Division Steering Committee and Leader, Mammography for GHC and Mauston
Meg Lubner, MD: Modality Chief of CT and CT Research
Lori Mankowski Gettle, MD, MBA: Modality Chief of Ultrasound and Ultrasound Research
Jane Lyon, MD: Pediatric Radiology and Fetal Body MRI Modality Chief
Susan Rebsamen, MD: Director Pediatric Neuroradiology

Residency Leadership
Mai Elezaby, MD: Associate Residency Program Director and Head of the Residency Selection Committee
Lori Mankowski Gettle, MD, MBA: Associate Residency Program Director
Allison Grayev, MD: Associate Residency Program Director
Nevein Ibrahim, MD: Associate Director of the Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Residency Program

Medical Student Leadership
Allison Grayev, MD: Co-Director of Phase 1 (pre-clinical) Radiology Curriculum
Tabby Kennedy, MD: Assistant Block Leader Acute Care, Phase 2, Co-Director of the Phase 3 Senior Diagnostic Radiology Elective
Jane Lyon, MD: Director of the Pediatric Radiology Rotation within Care Across the Life Cycle, Phase 2
Daniela Martin, MD, Mai Elezaby, MD, and Allison Grayev, MD: Faculty mentors for the Radiology Interest Group