Spring 2021 Presentation Awards

Posted on June 2021

Congratulations to the many Department of Radiology personnel who won awards at conferences this spring. We are proud to be so well-represented at these conferences by our esteemed faculty, staff, and students. Continue reading to learn more about some of the awards and honors that faculty members received this spring.

Tabby Kennedy, MD, was awarded a Certificate of Merit by the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR) for her presentation, Head and Neck Manifestations of Systemic Disease. Dr. Kennedy was also featured in the RSNA article “Creative Approaches to Education Put Medical Students in the Driver’s Seat”.

Howard Rowley, MD, was named a Fellow of the American College of Radiology (ACR).

John Garrett, PhD, was placed in the Top 8 by the Society for Imaging Informatics in Medicine (SIIM) Machine Learning Committee for his model, Federated Learning AI Model for CXR Disease Classification

Many faculty members received Certificates of Merit by the American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR). Kelly Capel, MD; Anthony Kuner, MD; Oliver Wieben, PhD; Kevin Johnson, PhD; and Laura Eisenmenger, MD, received Certificates for their presentation, Beyond Time of Flight MRA: Review of Flow Imaging Techniques. Alexey Samsonov, PhD, joined Drs. Capel, Kuner, Johnson, and Eisenmenger for their presentation MRI Perfusion Techniques: Beyond Dynamic Susceptibility Contrast, which earned them their Certificates of Merit.

At the 2021 International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM) meeting, trainees of Department faculty members received awards for their presentations. Yavuz Muslu and Gregory Simchick, mentored by Diego Hernando, PhD, were awarded Summa Cum Laude Merit Awards. Nathan Roberts and Soudabeh Kargar, mentored by Scott Reeder, MD, PhD; Daniel Seiter and Ruiming Chen, mentored by Kevin Johnson, PhD; and Philip Corrado, mentored by Oliver Wieben, PhD, were all awarded Magna Cum Laude Merit Awards for their respective presentations.